Registered Charity No 1100591

President Sir Simon Rattle

Home About Us Season Box Office Contact News Photo Gallery Links

Music for Merseyside

About the LMO

The LMO has been giving concerts on Merseyside since its foundation in 1951, providing a platform for emergent and established professional soloists and conductors. The orchestra performs a wide range of music from the baroque, classical and contemporary repertoire, making a significant contribution to the rich cultural life of the Northwest.

Who’s Who

Working with the Next Generation

Figaro in Rehearsal

More >>

In June 2001 the LMO celebrated its Golden Jubilee with a gala charity concert at which it was conducted by its then MD, Charles Peebles and its President, Sir Simon Rattle. The event raised £10,000 in support of the Roy Castle Lung Cancer Foundation.

In 2011 the orchestra celebrated its Diamond Jubilee, the highlight of which was the premiere performance of a piano concerto commissioned from Emily Howard, a former member of the orchestra, rapidly becoming one of the country's foremost young composers.


Golden Jubilee Concert

More >>

Working with Professionals

Martin Roscoe

Sir Simon Rattle


“The opening overture…was full of verve and crackled with enthusiasm for the ensuing long haul. It was as polished a performance as meted out by most professional orchestras”

It is through working with professional and often eminent conductors and soloists that the LMO strives to achieve the highest quality of performance. Peter Donohoe, Zubin Mehta, Martin Roscoe, Sir Charles Groves, Carl Davis and its President, Sir Simon Rattle, are among the famous names with whom the LMO has worked during its long history.

Among the soloists who have performed in recent years with the LMO are Gina McCormack, leader of the Sorrel String Quartet; Timothy Ho, formerly co-leader of the Hallé Orchestra; Jonathan Higgins, principal pianist to the Birmingham Royal Ballet; Nicholas Cox, and Timothy Jackson, respectively principal clarinet  and horn at the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; and Roger Montgomery, principal horn with the Royal Opera; violinist So-Ock Kim, Jonathan Small, principal oboe at the RLPO, guitarist Mark Ashford, cellist Clare Rowe, saxophonist Chris Swann and French horn player Naomi Atherton.

In recent seasons the orchestra has created very successful concerto opportunities for students from Chetham's School of Music (Mari Poll - violin, Callum Smart - violin; Jonathan Radford - saxophone; Joseph Davies - cello) and from the Royal Northern College of Music (William Stafford - clarinet; Alexandra Dariescu - piano; Mikhail Nemtsov - cello; Helen Wilson - flute) and the Royal Academy of Music (Jiafeng Chen - violin).

Soloists formerly from within the orchestra's ranks have included Sandy Bartai (cello), Cait Walker (oboe), Joanne Quigley (violin) and Alex Kane (bassoon) along with David Norris, oboist with the LMO for over 40 years.

You can remind yourself of some previous performers and see where they are now by following this link